Posted in Generation 1

1.6 Unplanned Happenstances

Welcome back to the Holt Legacy! Last time Arizona was kidnapped, and Texas was a problem child. After this post there will be an heir poll, so hopefully I’ll be able to play through Gen 2 before August ends.

TEXAS POV

Faith: “You snuck out!! I told you not to leave the house!! Are you going to disobey everything I say?!! YOU’RE GROUNDED!!!”
How dare this woman talk to me like this? After everything she’s done, it’s her fault Arizona’s dead in the first place, and she thinks she has the right to talk to me like this?

Texas: You think I’m going to listen to you! You’re crazy! You’ve never been there and everything you’ve done has just made things worse!!! I wouldn’t care if you died!”
Faith: “I lost Arizona too, you don’t get the monopoly on pain!!!”

Texas: “Boohoo, you lost a daughter. Well I lost my TWIN SISTER! You ran from any semblance of family you had! What right do you have to call yourself a mother?!
Faith: “I gave birth to you!!”
Texas: “That doesn’t seemed to have made a difference!!!”

Ugh, no one understands me. Arizona is dead, that sucks, but she’s not just dead, she was murdered. Someone was responsible, and no one seems to care. People like the Goths, who have all the power and can get away with anything, someone has to stop them. The cops are clearly in their back pockets, so I’ll have to do it on my own. I’ve got to upset the status quo in every way possible.

I’ve been in contact with a organization that works outside the law. I have to prove myself first, that I’m the sort of person they want to recruit.

Steal, harass old ladies, I don’t care what I have to do, I’m going to get in. Once I’m in I’ll climb to the top and get my revenge on the people who took Arizona from me.

I’m going to become strong enough that no one would dare take another person I care about away from me.

Bernard POV

With Texas and Faith arguing so much, I’ve taken to painting the day away, hiding from the arguments. This town is so against any kind of supernatural, blaming them for anything and everything that goes wrong. I used to think I could change that, but ever since Arizona… Maybe it’s better to stay away from everyone.

Despite how much easier it would be, I can’t stop caring about Faith and Texas. Faith has been sick lately and after Arizona I fear every little problem will lead to death.

However this turned out to be quite the opposite. Maybe some new life in this house will bring everyone out of the rut I feel we’ve fallen into.

Faith still refuses to talk to me, and Texas is hardly ever around, though he’s been playing a lot of pranks lately. I hope that’s all it is, I’ve been getting calls from the school that Texas has been making a habit of missing classes, and when he does show up he often lands himself in detention.

Would this child be a good thing? I can only hope, though Texas wasn’t too please to find out.
Texas: “YOU’RE PREGNANT!? YOU THINK YOU CAN JUST REPLACE ARIZONA WITH A NEW BABY!!!”

Faith: “Do you think I planned this?! Another child is the last thing I want in my life right now!”
Texas: “Oh so you don’t even want it! What kind of mother are you?”

Texas: “Did you even want Arizona and I, or were we just another one of your mistakes!?!”
Faith: “Stop putting words in my mouth! I loved you both!!”

Texas: “You LOVED us! So what now that Arizona’s gone I’m no longer worth your time, you no longer love me!!!
Faith: “That’s not what I said!!!”

Texas: “YOU MIGHT AS WELL HAVE!!! Guess what, I don’t care anymore!! I hate you and the only way you could improve my life is to disappear from it!!!”
Faith: “That’s not going to happen, and this baby is going to exist whether you like it or not!”

After Faith left, I sat down beside Texas. No matter how much I try not to listen, sound carries in this house and I heard every word of the argument. I’m sure Texas and Faith still love each other, but I fear their relationship may be damaged beyond repair. Maybe I can do something, maybe I can help.

Bernard: “What’s been going on lately? You’re never home, and now you argue with Faith all the time. I don’t understand.”

Texas: “I know you’re trying Bernie, but I do know how to look after myself. I don’t need you to worry about me. We’re close, but no matter what you do are say, you aren’t family, and there are some things you just won’t understand.”
Bernard: “I just want to help.”
Texas: “The best way you can help me is to stay out of my way. I’ve got a plan, everything’s going to work out.”

My talk with Texas did nothing to ease my concerns. I know Texas is up to something, but he won’t talk to anyone about it. Texas’ words stung, I know I’m not related to him, but I helped raise him, I taught him what I could. Among vampires that would be enough to make us family, but maybe it’s different with humans…

ARIZONA POV

Liam: “You can’t say no. We have to get married. There isn’t a choice, not for us.”
Arizona: “You don’t have to do everything your dad says! I’m not going to marry you on his say so. He KIDNAPPED me. I don’t know what planet you’re used to living on, but this isn’t okay. I just want to go home.”
Liam: “You don’t know my dad. Please, this is for your own good.”
Arizona: “No.”

Denever: “WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’RE DOING????”
Arizona: “I’m not getting married on your say so! I want to go home!!!”
Denver: “Well tough! Guess what, your family thinks your dead, you won’t be getting any help from them!!! I’ll show you what happens when you disobey me…”

There’s no one coming for me… I’m trapped here, unable to leave, unable to control my own life. I thought these were reasonable people, I thought I could chose. I feel sick at the thought of my ‘punishment’. I can’t go through this again.

So when Liam proposed again, I had little choice but to accept.

Liam: “I’m really sorry, but I did warn you. I hope you’re alright, but if you give me a chance I think we could be very happy together.”

Arizona: “You think apologizing suddenly makes everything alright!?!?!? What is your problem?! We are forced into this against are will, your father is a tyrant! Maybe if you bothered to grow a backbone we could figure a way out of this!!”
Liam: “I’m sorry! I didn’t mean to upset you.”
Arizona: “Just stand up for yourself, for once in your life! You’re a coward!!”

Oh no. It seems my punishment had some unintended consequences, what will I do?

Arizona: “LOOK WHAT YOUR FATHER DID TO ME!!! HOW CAN YOU STAND BY A MAN WHO DOES THIS???”
Liam: “I’m sorry! I didn’t want this to happen, but I did warn you something bad would happen if you didn’t listen.”
Arizona: “YOU COWARD!!! If you won’t call him out on his crap, then I WILL!!”

Arizona: “LOOK WHAT YOU DID TO ME ASSHOLE!! I’M PREGNANT!!”
Denver: “Look girl, I’ve told you before, you call me SIR!!”

Denver: “This child is your problem. You better get married to my son quick if you don’t want anything worse to happen to you.”

So in the end I was left with little choice but to marry Liam. He may be a spineless coward who refuses to stand up to his father, but there are worse people to be married to.

Denver: “What do you think you’re doing girl?! It’s your wedding night, and you will consummate your marriage with my son!!”
Arizona: “What?! No way!”
Denver: “That child you’re carrying is completely unnecessary! You’ll do as I say, or something might happen to it!”

And with my skin crawling, I made my way upstairs for my wedding night.

BERNARD POV

I’m awfully worried about Faith. There is no longer frequent secret visitors, instead she spends most of her time in bed sleeping. I have tried to breach the subject of her welfare many times, but she shuts down the conversation before I can get much more than a few words out.

I must admit, when it comes to these situations I am utterly useless. I can barely understand how a baby manages to come out, let alone be of any use in the process. As usual Faith refused to go to a hospital despite my urges.

She then welcomed her new son, Ohio to the world. I hope that things will final begin to get better again.

My hopes do not seem to have panned out, as one day I was out fishing for the first time in a long while.

I was only across the street, so I could see Faith was up and about for the first time in ages.

However, what I wasn’t aware of was little Ohio screaming his head off inside.

She seemed more interested in yelling at Texas for his abysmal grades.

Texas was also ignoring his new little brother in favour of spending time with his new girlfriend, Aria.

Of course I only became aware of the situation when I returned home myself.

I immediately attended to his needs. It was time for another conversation with Faith, and this time I will not be ignored.

Bernard: “What do you think you’re doing?! Ohio was inside crying his head off, and you and Texas was just ignoring. I know losing Arizona broke us all, but Ohio needs you!!”

Faith: “I’m sorry, but I can go through this again, I can’t get attached. Ohio doesn’t need me, he deserves someone better, someone who won’t screw up his life.”

Bernard: “You won’t ruin his life Faith, just be there for him. Promise me you’ll try harder.”
Faith: “I won’t leave him to cry like that again, but… I’m assigning him to your care, I can’t do this.”
No matter how hard I tried, Faith would not budge on this matter. It seems that Ohio’s care is left to me.

Texas refuses to acknowledge anyone having authority over him. Faith grounded him for his poor grades, but he went out to prom anyway. He may be doing his best to burn his bridges with his mother, but his girlfriend seems quite smitten with him.

I can only hope that she’ll prove to be a good influence on him, but Texas continues to regularly miss school.

I fear what he’s up too, especially with how strange he’s been behaving as of late.

He doesn’t have a job, but somehow Texas is able to afford all these presents for Aria.

I’d just like to point out that other than the shoes Aria is surprisingly well dressed for EA randomized clothing.

Texas and Aria regularly go out to see movies, even when Texas is grounded.

Texas absolutely dotes on Aria, even managing to take her out to the nicest restaurant in town. I can’t help but wonder where he’s getting the money to do all of this.

ARIZONA POV

I have a son, Manitoba. He’s been relegated to the attic with no proper room of his own.

He’s perfect, and I promise myself that I’ll do anything to protect him.

LIAM POV

Arizona has turned my world upside down. I may not have been happy with my father’s every decision, but in the past he’s usually turned out to be right. But maybe Arizona’s the one who’s right this time, maybe I should stop letting him run my life…

And that’s it for this chapter folks. Now for the traits of the new babies. Ohio is an Athletic Loner, who likes the colour black and pumpkin pie. Manitoba is a Genius and Perceptive who likes Irish green and vegetarian Chile Con Carne. It’s now time for the heir poll, which will be up momentarily. You can vote here on this blog or on Boolprop, or both if you want to. Which of these kids will YOU choose to lead this family into the next generation.

Leave a comment